Aside

Things worth saying

I’ve been told that the perfect man,
“Is one who listens.”

Then would that make the perfect woman,

“One with something more to say worth listening to?”

– Justin Foyils, my bistro friend.

I want to be one of those people – the ones that can move a crowd in a matter of sentences. The ones for whom the world stops turning just to listen, even if for a moment. I don’t want the fame, I don’t want press conferences or memoirs or anything like that.

I just want something to say.The thought that can rally movements, change futures. Something profound and unique and worldly, something that would be quoted for its truth and honesty so often that my name would be lost. But that would be ok, because I don’t want the recognition or the praise -I just want something to say.

I’m guessing one has to live for a while, experience things, soul search. If that is what it takes, ok, I’ll do it.

I don’t have a specific movement in mind, and most of the profound things I come up with have been said before. But that doesn’t matter.

Maybe I’m batman – only there when the world needs him. (I sure as hell don’t want to be the Amanda Bynes of the world.)

I just want to have something worth listening to. The average seventeen -almost eighteen thank you- year old doesn’t have much wisdom to offer. Just things like “Don’t sneak boys into the house” and ” Dude that new xbox is going to be cray cray.” I’m hoping I’m a little different.

Maybe I’ll have some big inspirational moment. Maybe not.

That being said, this is what I’ve come up with:

– When people show you who they are, believe them. (or, don’t fall for the same guy twice knowing the end of the story months in advance.)

– Homework may not pay for all of your college experience, but it will sure help. (I’m selling my first and second born children in advance to pay for a double major and law school.)

– Don’t be afraid to speak your mind to a bunch of adults because you’re young. The smart ones know that you may have insight that they haven’t thought of. (Thanks Mr. Kaufman.)

– Meatloaf is never an acceptable dinner item. Ever.

– Listen – what you hear might surprise you.

 

I’m working on not passing up experiences that I will regret not having later.

All the adventurous women do.

 

Leave a Reply

